St. John’s University names new president

Conrado M. Gempesaw has been named the 17th president of St. John’s University after an extensive nationwide search.

“I am deeply honored to have been chosen to lead St. John’s University during this transformational time, and grateful for the confidence and support of everyone who participated in the search process,” said Gempesaw in a statement.

Effective July 1, Gempesaw, will succeed Joseph L. Levesque, who will be stepping down as planned at the conclusion of the current academic year, the Queens, N.Y.-based university said in a statement.


Conrado M. Gempesaw was named 17th president of St. John’s University. Photo credit: St. John’s University.

“In Dr. Gempesaw, we have found a visionary leader who understands and embraces St. John’s mission as a Catholic and Vincentian university,” the university said, “and has the skills necessary to realize our goals for the future.”

The Filipino-American, currently the provost and executive vice president for academic affairs at Miami University in Oxford, Ohio, is a long-time academic with a career spanning three decades.

Before joining Miami University, Gempesaw held several positions at the University of Delaware including dean of the Lerner College of Business and Economics, interim dean for the College of Arts and Sciences and acting associate provost for International Programs and Special Sessions, among others.

Gempesaw received his doctorate in agricultural economics from Penn State University; his master’s degree in agricultural economics from West Virginia University; and his bachelor’s degree in economics from Ateneo de Davao University in the Philippines.

Gempesaw is the first layperson to lead the 144-year-old Catholic institution, according to Newsday.

Led by R. William Funk & Associates, the selection was overseen by a 13-member search committee representing a cross-section of St. John’s University constituencies, including faculty, students, administrators, alumni and trustees. The committee was co-chaired by Peter P. D’Angelo, chair of the St. John’s University Board of Trustees, and Michael J. Carroll, vice chair.

Read the university’s full statement here.

Be first to comment